Golf Basics: The Tournaments

Information about what golf tournaments are played around the world.

Very basics / Ways of play / Golf terms / The course / Tournaments

The golfing world recognizes four contests as the most important tournaments each year--the Masters, the U.S. Open, the British Open, and the Professional Golfers' Association (PGA) tournament. Each of these competitions has a long history. But other important tournaments also take place each year.

A group of four competitions is recognized as the modern "Grand Slam" of golf for men. These tournaments, in order of play, are the Masters Tournament, the United States Open, the British Open, and the Professional Golfers'Association of America (PGA) Championship. The two open tournaments are open to both professional and amateur golfers. Both may also be invited to the Masters Tournament. The PGA sponsors its tournament for professionals only. No man has ever won all four tournaments in the same year. Leading competitions for women golfers include the U.S. Women's Open and the LPGA (Ladies Professional Golf Association) tournaments.

The original "Grand Slam" for men consisted of the U.S. Amateur, U.S. Open, British Amateur, and British Open. It was won only once, by American amateur golfer Bobby Jones in 1930.

Most countries have amateur competitions for youths and adults. Many countries also compete in international team competitions, both professional and amateur. One of the best known for professionals is the Ryder Cup match, in which a team of professional men golfers plays against a combined team from Britain and other European countries. The Ryder Cup match is played every two years, and its site alternates between the United States and Britain. Professional women golfers from the United States compete against British and European women every two years for the Solheim Cup.

Very basics / Ways of play / Golf terms / The course / Tournaments